A weekend of sewing

14 09 2009

So it’s been a few days since I posted, between a migraine, followed by a sinus infection, I haven’t been up to much at all. Except sewing of course! I spent the weekend hunched over the ironing board/sewing machine.

I learned new things this weekend, which I’m always excited about. I learned how to make ruffles! I know that doesn’t sound like a big deal, but to me, every new thing I learn about making clothes opens entire worlds of design to me. Now I can add ruffles anywhere I want! Yay me! Plus once I learn a new skill, I can add to it with another new skill. I know I am too excited for my own good.

I made her a top based on the pillowcase dress, I shortened the length and the width and finished it with ribbon.

top1

top2

I wanted to try making her a shrug, so I grabbed an old top of hers that had a big stain down the middle. Excellent, she has a new shrug and that stain is cut out! I had made it while she was asleep and hung it up in the kitchen. When she woke up and saw it, she kept pointing at it saying, “PWEE! PWEE!” which is how she says pretty. Think she likes it!

shrug

Then I moved on to something harder (for me) and a step away from the pillowcase dress. I made her a little playdress, and followed that up with some pants to go underneath. This was where I learned ruffles! I’ve been practicing these attempts using the same sheet, so a lot of her new clothes are matchy.

dress

Sorry for the lack of good photos, it’s rainy outside or we’d go to the park for a photo shoot. Maybe later in the week.

Next I’m going to make another playdress. I guess I like to make everything more than once just to make sure I’ve mastered it before I move on. Any suggestions for my next lesson? I can’t wait to try something new!

Forgot to add, total cost of all this sewing: Free! or about 10 cents of notions
2 old shirts, 1 old sheet set, ribbons and thread.

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 09 2009
fangarooni

hey i share your excitement, hooray for learning to make ruffles! also, the little shrug is so cute! what a productive weekend

14 09 2009
chimpsgomoo

Thank you! I am a big fan of orange! And it was super super easy, it took like 10 mins.

Leave a Reply

