Men’s workshirts into toddler swing skirt

17 09 2009

jump

She seems happy eh?

I used a great tutorial from Vegbee and 8ish hours later (hard to judge between driving kids to functions and classes and having a toddler at your legs) this was the end result!

prettysitting

For my first real project of any magnitude, I’m alright with it. I know I can do better. I know the bottom seam is crooked, but I opted to forgo the bias tape or anything that would weigh it down more, so I folded it over. Maybe not the best choice for someone with my sewing skills.

peeking

Also, the butt is shorter than the front, even though she hardly has a butt, even with a diaper! I should shorten the front next time. (I know this photo looks like the exact opposite, it’s just the way she’s standing)

angles

E makes Tyra Banks proud with her crazy angles. She probably needs to work on smiling with her eyes though.

This was quite a fun and frugal sewing project. I used 3 of S’s work shirts that didn’t quite fit him, cut them into strips and sewed those together, then cut them out using a template.

skirtpattern

I could have actually done this with 2 shirts, but I liked the tricolor pattern and I had plenty of shirts to work with.

I was really moving right along, proud of myself for getting it mostly right and all the seams the right direction, etc, when this happened.

oops

It took me forever to realize that anything was wrong, I wasted so so so much thread doing this. Don’t even ask me how long it took to figure out what was happening. I’m a self taught noob, remember? S knows more about sewing than I do!

sunlight

Total cost: FREE, however, I know my husband’s shirt supply won’t last, so thrift store bought this would be about $12 on a bad day. Yard sale bought? $3ish. I’m definitely going to make another one, but this time in my size. S has 4 or 5 green greyish shirts that will make a very lovely skirt!

(Oh, BTW, I was telling my mom about this and she freaked out, thinking I was using all of S’s good work shirts lol)

Sale at Joanns
Joann’s has all their fat quarters on sale for $0.99. I bought a few really gorgeous patterns and felt spoiled. I should keep better track of how much I’m spending on this crafting I started to save money 🙂

That’s it for now. I’m going out with my mom to buy notions and velcro for her belly dance costume. Now that’s another great story…

Actions

Information

5 responses

19 09 2009
fangarooni

hahaha i have had my fair share of huge thread furballs too. also, big plus for reusing the clothes, now there is a cool line of buttons on the skirt that you didnt have to create yourself !

21 09 2009
chimpsgomoo

Thanks! I’m kinda glad I’m not the only one who has done that! So what is your next project now that you’re done with that gorgeous shirt?

20 09 2009
salvagecrafts

This looks really cool! Great idea!

21 09 2009
chimpsgomoo

Thank you so much! I can’t take credit for the idea of course, but thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment, it means so much to me! I’m subscribing to your blog too, I’m a huge fan of reclaimed/reconstructed clothing.

29 09 2009
A Sneak Peek « Chimps Go Moo

[…] My own circle skirt from S’s shirts, using Vegbee’s tute B’s birthday tutu hoodie for S pjs pants for at least 4 for xmas S wants me to make him a “Gumby” costume a la Monty Python. I’m not sure much sewing is involved, but I better put it here. November […]

Leave a Reply

