Firefly/Serenity Kaylee Inspired Toddler outfit

1 10 2009

kbest

Please note the word “inspired” in the title. I tried very hard to make something more similar but man did I have problems. So I am a huge browncoat, and it’s exciting to say I saw the very first episode they showed on FOX the night it premiered and have been hooked ever since. That never happens, I usually catch on a season or two later. Like, I’m going to watch Fast Forward, really, I just haven’t had time! I won’t be too behind.

Back to Firefly:

Photo courtesy FOX and fan site Can't Take the Sky

Photo courtesy FOX and fan site Can't Take the Sky


I love the Kaylee character and I really wanted to make a few outfits for E inspired by Kaylee’s look.

I ran into a few problems right off the bat. There was this beautiful fabric I’d seen at Joann’s several times but on the day I had some extra money it was nowhere to be seen! And there was no way I was going to be able to explain the fabric I was searching for to anyone that worked there.

fabrick

So sadly, off the top of my head I grabbed two fabrics I thought would work. And I think they did!

kclose
The shirt didn’t give me any problems except one – I used white thread. I didn’t realize it would show up so easily. Oops. It did give me the opportunity to see how messy my stitches were, in case I started to get cocky and think I actually knew how to sew!

k1

The next problem was that I didn’t want to make a jumpsuit. That seems a little beyond me and who wants to put a kinda-sorta potty training toddler in a jumpsuit? So I had the brilliant idea to make a vest instead! You’ll notice you haven’t seen the vest, and you won’t. I made three different versions and none of them worked or fit right. It was getting to the point that I was so frustrated I wanted to quit, and I knew she wouldn’t wear a vest anyway. So what was I stressing over? I’m learning to let go of the things that aren’t going to be improved with my panic attacks/stress and that was one of them.

But I do want to find or make a heart and teddy bear patch, it really won’t be complete till I can do that.

k4

It really need something, especially since the vest wasn’t happening, so with what I believe is Kaylee’s approval, E got some ruffles. S helped me set the ruffles properly, he’s so handy to have around. When I did it they were way way off! I will next time, however, put them higher up. I also used clear elastic for the ruffles on the pant leg and the gathering on the ruffles themselves.

k3

Total cost: $6ish.

I’ve really enjoyed being inspired by Kaylee and I would love to make her “pretty” from the episode, “Shindig”, but that’s biting off a lot for a complete novice. Unless I make a sort of twirl skirt. We’ll see.

Next up: Z wants to learn how to make dolls or juggling balls or something small he can sell, which means I have to learn how to make something easy for him to learn how to make. Any suggestions?

Actions

Information

8 responses

1 10 2009
Irie Momma

I love, love, LOVE the outfit! The gathering on the shirt is fantastic and the ruffles on her bottom are adorable!
And…my husband is a HUGE firefly fan so even he was excited when I showed him your pics 🙂

3 10 2009
chimpsgomoo

Oh thank you SO much! I’m planning on doing more Firefly inspired clothing too. I’m so happy that another browncoat can see Kaylee in this outfit 🙂

4 10 2009
sherisprojects

Beautiful! I love the ruffles too! Nice work!

4 10 2009
chimpsgomoo

Thank you!

4 10 2009
nadinesaupeart

OMG, that is so cute. and I love Firefly. Let’s make a deal, I get your super cute kid and you get the painting. what do you say?

4 10 2009
chimpsgomoo

ROFL today I would definitely be getting the better end of the deal! Rough toddler day today, but thank you so very much.

16 10 2009
fangarooni

this ruffled outfit is something i would expect to see in a childrens boutique; im really impressed!!! and so many PJ pants – you are on a roll, woohoo! i havent seen Firefly, but i have been watching Flash Forward and it is really addictive – i just want them to solve the mystery already!

17 10 2009
chimpsgomoo

Thank you so much! I have Flash Forward on my to-watch list, but I may wait till the season is over and do a marathon.

Leave a Reply

