A Sneak Peek

29 09 2009

My latest finished project

blouse

Ta-da! My first peasant blouse I’m alright with sharing with the world. I used another of Vegbee’s fabulous tutorials. (On a side note: I wish blogspot would let me log in so I could tell her how great I think her tutorials are and how much they’ve helped me. Trust me, go read them! On top of her tutes, she just has the most fantastic outlook on life.)

At any rate, I used a pretty little purple flowered remnant from Walmart and what is probably-supposed-to-be-used-under-a-skirt white material that was also a remnant. That’s why E isn’t wearing it. She has worn it a few times, but there is already a tear in the white (and that wasn’t even her fault – bad mommy!) so there’s no point in her wearing it until I can salvage it.

Total cost of this practice garment: $1.50 … ouch. I shouldn’t have used the purple on a practice shirt, it’s cute. I try to shoot for less than $1 per outfit. Oh well, rack this up to another learning experience. I’m even happy with my failures, what is going on?! :p

I like to make a “practice” garment with material that is cheap before I start my “real” project. Usually I use sheets. But all this has been leading up to an outfit for E I’m pretty excited about. I really hope it turns out! I’ll even give you a sneak peek and a hint.

Just a little sneak peek

Just a little sneak peek

And here’s the hint: Firefly/Serenity.

Upcoming Projects

Because my list is getting huge and I need to get my act together, this should keep me on task. I have quite a few presents and costumes to get together before the end of the year!

    September

finish swing skirt
E’s Halloween skirt Finished 9/29/09

    October

My own circle skirt from S’s shirts, using Vegbee’s tute
B’s birthday tutu Or even better, some sort of criss-cross tutu, these are gorgeous!
hoodie for S
pjs pants for at least 4 for xmas 10/3/09 Finished
S wants me to make him a “Gumby” costume a la Monty Python. I’m not sure much sewing is involved, but I better put it here.

    November

Dishtowel aprons for Xmas
Something pretty for my cousin who is having another girl, a blanket? This itty bitty baby dress? Maybe a baby tutu? Suggestions welcome!
This incredibly cute bag for ME! Or maybe I’ll give it to my mother who loves purses the way I love geek stuff. Very special thanks to Jessi Linn for drawing my attention to it.

I’m sure I’m going to end up adding more, maybe a scarf for my mother in law. Maybe something my brother in law can use in basic training. Maybe I can find some inexpensive Betty Boop fabric and make something for my sister.


Actions

Information

5 responses

29 09 2009
fangarooni

formalizing your list of projects will definitely get you on the path to making them – as opposed to me where i have all these projects just floating around in my head haha. im totally putting the buttercup bag on my list of things to do! also, nice puffed sleeves whee

29 09 2009
chimpsgomoo

Thanks! I used clear elastic (for the first time) on the sleeves. And isn’t that bag gorgeous! It only uses a fat quarter and I have 4 of those from a few weeks ago when Joanns was having them on sale for $.99. A purse for $.99? Awesome.

Anyways, I’d love to see your list!

30 09 2009
Irie Momma

I love the shirt! I can’t wait to see everything else you are working on. I’m pretty sure I’m going to have to do a dishtowl apron soon. Thanks for sharing!

30 09 2009
chimpsgomoo

Thank you, I hope your apron turns out, I can’t wait to see that!

1 10 2009
jackkaye

That is so cute! I can’t sew at all, if you notice the tutu was all non-sew heh heh 🙂 happy crafting!

Leave a comment